While I’m At It I’m Still Mad

Who will police the police?  as Juvenal asked centuries ago.  To whom is Major League Baseball responsible: To whom do they answer and who makes the rules?  The MLB is sort of the OG of baseball now:  It’s like they cruise around the game in black Navigators with tinted windows.   

You never hear their actions being discussed or questioned.  Heck: They’re WAY more untouchable than an Umpire.  Top down and that is it.  ( No wonder George Bush still wants to be Commissioner of Baseball.  Perfect for him: No supervision, no rules, no questions. Lots of power and no vehicle code. )  I can’t help but think there is more to the Manny situation than meets the eyeball.  And the people who are bringing him to task don’t have to provide any answers on their end.  I don’t like it.  It just feels wrong, and it’s not altogether clear which part of it smells the worst. 

It may seem strange, Gentle Reader, that your Humble Herbalist gets completely and entirely torched off about this.  I didn’t really appreciate Manny much initially until I started paying attention to how he played the game.  Baseball is a game I really love- and I am most definitely not a sports fanatic.  Almost everything else, ho hum.  But baseball.  Baseball is like life, it’s zen like in a way.  Anything can happen , things go as they go.  Concentration and focus in the now is what counts.  Plus dedication, preparation, loving it.  For all that I respect Manny.  For mucking around with the one thing besides cooking that saves my sanity every year, that first crack of the bat is like the ice thawing on a river for me, I don’t respect MLB.  They could have dealt with this without humiliating Ramirez, if indeed a problem even exists.  But they chose to do something that punishes him publicly, to my mind for who he IS as much as anything.  It’s bad for baseball if you ask me.  Even if you don’t.

Leave a Reply

