Not Again (or, Another Opinion)

I can’t quite express the horror  and dismay I felt at being subjected to Dick Cheney on television again.  Over and over.  I don’t want to hear anything from that individual, ever again.  I think we can safely say He’s Done Enough.  

Cheney no longer holds any office in government and I fail to see why we should be subjected to his opinions any further.  Opinions from someone who doesn’t, apparently, understand how a democratic society is to function (justice and liberty, for example), someone who has no respect for humanity, and someone who will justify any means to get to his desired end.   I also wonder how appropriate his appearance was, considering he was Vice-President, not President.  Presidential remarks might possibly have been appropriate.  Given his theoretically lower position, his remarks were not appropriate, actually a bit disrespectful,and his whole litany was as offensive as ever and, basically, as thoughtless.  I can’t help but wonder why he got so much attention.

 I had to laugh when I heard Jesse Ventura say, after hearing Cheney’s remarks, give me an hour to waterboard Dick Cheney and I’ll get him to confess to the Sharon Tate murders.  This summarizes the view on the veracity of information gained by torture  (er, excuse me, what is it? enhanced interrogation?) of virtually every long term professional in the military and intelligence sector, many of whom have written quite extensively on the subject: It is extremely unreliable.  So why would you torture someone knowing that?   Knowing that you cannot count on getting the truth, knowing that the United States represents a supposedly higher moral ground, and knowing that torture is expressly banned by the Geneva Convention, to which the last time I checked the United States had been a signatory.  ( Perhaps Cheney confused the Geneva Convention with the Kyoto Protocol?)  In any case, torture is also completely contrary to that other document with which Cheney continually seemed to be unfamiliar: The Constitution of the United States.

Personally, I really really want Dick Cheney to go away, now.  Go away and stay away and don’t come back, ever.    In my view, he’s shamed the country by hugely participating in the dragging of it into a situation that was misrepresented from the beginning, violating the Constitution and kicking Habeas Corpus to the curb, and also: Profitting from it.  Haliburton ring any bells?   My opposition to torture, by the way, is in no way a denigration of the individuals who are forced to do it under orders they must obey.  ( Don’t bother to think about the public health consequences of that, Dick.  All the people who can’t live with the darkness they’ve inhabited. )  Cheney’s comments in that regard were even more insulting than his usual standard.  Which is high.

Dick Cheney has been my meditation practice about compassion and forgiveness for the past few years.  I’m not making alot of progress judging by how I felt watching him on TV.  Or perhaps I have.  I have compassion for him, but I see no need to allow him to continue in his injurious ways which have led my country to the brink of disaster.   I don’t know what someone like Gandhi or Dr. King, Jr. would have made of all this.  I still don’t think such a person as Cheney deserves media attention and analysis.  His time is over, and he should have enough sense and self possession to acknowledge that.

Leave a Reply

