Beyond Here Be Dragons

It was one of those weeks. One morning saw the sun come up accompanied by the incredible sound of the sewer being vacuumed. From 6:30 to 10:30 a.m. The next morning, EARLY, a loud argument. Then, a car accident complete with stuck horn. Today? The toddler next door got busy on his (actual size, not kiddy) drum set while someone else in his household vacuumed. What is it with vacuums? This one sounds like an air raid alert. Except THAT’S on Wednesday.

The day to day issues that are rising up like ever more frequent sightings of the Loch Ness monster have been getting to me a bit. Slowing me down, Gentle Reader. I’m just not sure we’re equipped as humans to withstand all this, although my main response lately has been our old friend procrastination. Do I REALLY have to handle my sales tax log in problems right now? Along with the collapsing lives and affairs of those around me? Not to mention the dismal performance of my baseball team? So today? While the Partner is watching the Mexican Car Show channel (spelled bodacious ta ta although at the moment there’s a mere 95 pounder on) I am doing strenuous deep breathing and reminding myself that it is all O.K., really. We can only do what we can do, giving it our best effort and then letting go. The monkey in Buddhist tradition, in the room that gets smaller and smaller, eventually does calm down and look out the window.

Leave a Reply

