Of Horses and Habaneros

AS it turned out….horses do not throw up unless there is a problem.  It turned out to be a big one, too.  Tuesday when Harley came over and threw up he was, essentially, asking for help.  His human (our landlady) called the veterinarian, who treated him for choke, which is apparently something that happens to horses with some frequency: They get a glob of food stuck in their throat and then the problems start.  So, the vet stuck a tube into Harley’s nose to get the food glob dislodged, saying that it was a common procedure and not to worry.  But, of course, you can imagine that that sort of thing- the not to worry thing?-  happens on some other planet altogether, can’t you?  Not the one WE’RE on.  So poor Harley got tubed five times, also had a bad reaction to the pain medication, additionally got colic because he’d been blocked at, essentially, both ends.  Also, it’s been hotter than the well known spot commonly referenced in such comparisons.  So fast forward to Wednesday night when I got back from town and the landlady zipped up to transact some business.  She’d called earlier while I was gone, telling the Partner to let me know Harley was bleeding from the nose and not to freak out when I walked by.  She dashed off in tears, we were all crying, and things seemed quite grim.  It looked as though he might have to be put down.

So, what to do?  Rumi said to let yourself be drawn by the pull of what you truly love.  I felt I had to do something to help, being a witch doctor in training and all.  So first, I sat and, essentially, prayed.  Prayer is a word I often hesitate to use because it has become so…well, polluted in meaning what with all the politicians and..oh, never mind.  Anyway.  I focussed on Harley.  A little later I knew I had to go over and see him.  The poor baby.  His normally clear brown eyes were purple from distress and I knew he was miserable, panting and bleeding and good lord it was awful.  So I started doing Jin Shin Jyutsu on him, talking and moving my hands.  Our landlady came out, in tears, and we stood with him together, moving our hands over his poor pained body,  for quite some time during which I was almost completely devoured by bugs.  We didn’t know if he’d make it through the night or not.  The next morning he was there, looking better, waiting for me.  I worked on him twice yesterday, and today he looked a whole lot better.  Some issues remaining but no blood.  He was covered in cold towels and his breath was largely normal.  His nose is apparently healing but it clearly itches and he puts it deep down in water to soothe it.  He can’t eat solid things like hay yet because his throat is raw, so he’s getting carrot juice and handfuls of clover.  But the thing of it is this.  Yesterday I was doing a sequence on him for which I had to put my arms around his neck.  He rested his head on my shoulder and kissed it.    Today he again kissed me, and nodded his head a few times in agreement when I said how smart his mommy is to have figured out he didn’t like the pain medication, and that he was going to be all right.  As I walked back to the yurt, the other two horses walked over to me from the top of their pen.  The first day I went over they dashed down, wanting to know what was going on, the worry clear in their eyes.  Once I started working on Harley they both walked away to give us some privacy, then when he took a short walk near them, both reached their necks over the corral and wrapped themselves around him so lovingly, it was breathtaking.  Today when they walked over, they both let me stroke their heads and Copper stood up very straight, raising his head over the top of the fence, leaned over so he was nose to nose with me, and kissed my forehead.   It was the best thank you I’ve gotten for a long time.   And it reminded me, once again since I keep losing the thought like a bar of soap on the shower floor, that love is the motivating power of the universe- or at least one of the big ones.  If we let ourselves be moved by the power that flows through everything, we are bound at least sometimes to do good and be of help.  And that’s really why we’re here.

During all this period, we’ve been eating Jerk- we made chicken, although it’s good on almost anything, even tofu if you can believe it.  We have a habanero crop this year that is simply mind boggling.  So we decided to make Jerk, which we both like, and I can report that Mark Bittman’s recipe for it in THE BEST RECIPES IN THE WORLD, is a keeper.   So it is, indeed, a world of wonders.

Leave a Reply

