Back on the horse

Because, indeed, we fell off, Gentle Reader.  I became quite ill for a few days and it was amazing to see, as the time passed, how tenuous any connection to the outside world really is.  There was, in a way, silence.

Which I liked because really, having nothing to say allowed me to view the changes that are transpiring in my life.  Carrying on with my old way of doing things (full speed ahead, who cares if there’s water in that swimming pool? I’M JUMPING IN) proves impractical in a place where simply getting through one’s daily tasks can be herculean, much less including dashing hither and yon.  I saw how often I was influenced by others to do things I really didn’t want to do, or wasn’t prepared to do.  I saw also that that was contributing mightily to the chest pain that practically drove me around the bend.

Which is to say that we have once again been restored to almost customary bounce and joie de vivre (despite food and mood poisoning at a homeowner association meeting), and it appears that certain of the heavier pieces of matched emotional baggage have been left, finally, behind.  Of course this may all be another iteration of what happens when you say something really dumb like, hey! I got this! or that thing about conditions not deteriorating which one never, ever, neverever says.  Perhaps it is just advanced shell shock.  We’ll see.

HOWEVER.  It being baseball season closing in on the home stretch and all, and wondering what the standings are,  it has been rather forcibly brought home to us that if you don’t have a Mobile Device or wifi all the time- which essentially means you live in a city- your access to information is incredibly limited.  I find this a rather sinister situation, frankly.   Because really? We don’t all have access to that stuff.  (and even if we do?  It’s better in frigging Romania- which still stuns me.  Romania has better internet than the U.S. and if you live where we do, you seriously know that).  Kind of like when the Times Picayune of New Orleans went to once a week or so print publishing and the rest on line.  In a city where a third of the inhabitants have no internet.  I’m just wondering what will happen when the satellites have a problem.  Or the power grid goes down, as we were anxiously hoping would not happen with a fire too near here that was hovering around where the power lines for fifteen (count ’em, 15) western states are gathered.  Notice how I”m not mentioning Monsanto or Syria?  MASSIVE SELF CONTROL.

Aside from the fact that things in the outer world are continuing to not make all that much sense, I did manage to make some faux carnitas which turned out really well.   I think we’ll live!  Soon there may even be pictures of tomatoes.  Not to mention the frog, who is still with us.   Things to look forward to, Gentle Reader.  Indeed.

 

One response to this post.

  1. What i do not realize is if truth be told how you
    are no longer actually a lot more well-preferred than you might be
    now. You are so intelligent. You know thus considerably in the case of this subject, made me personally imagine it from a lot
    of numerous angles. Its like men and women are not fascinated except it is something to do with Girl gaga!
    Your personal stuffs great. At all times deal with it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

